Send a Message

Indiza claims 5th crown at Uganda Pro Open Championship

Kenya’s Dismas Indiza Anyonyi, entered Uganda’s golf book records by claiming his fifth Uganda Open at the Castle Lite sponsored 16th edition of the Uganda Pro Open golf championship at the Lakeside Entebbe Club.

The Mumias based professional returned to the club house to a rapturous gallery after returning a score of 10 under par 274.

“I feel great and happy to have claimed my fifth title at this Open I worked hard for this tournament and I must say it was a tough challenge to me and the rest,” Indiza said after his victory “ This has been the biggest win for me in terms of the margin I have won here at the Uganda Open.”

Indiza has previously won the 2007, 2008, 2011 and 2012 editions. Kenya’s Greg Snow finished runner up with a score of 6 under par 278.

Zambia’s Dayne Moore was 2 under par 282 and finished third in the tournament. “I didn’t play as expected but I enjoyed playing on this course it’s very challenging,” Moore said. “I hope I can come and play again here again.”

Uganda’s towering Denis Anguyo and Happy Robert tied for fourth with 283 gross respectively.

Last year’s winner Stephen Ferreira finished 7th with a final round of 2 over par 286 while 2015 winner Madalisto Muthiya, was sixth with a score of 1 over par 285.

The 4-day tournament was sponsored by Castle Lite and co-sponsored by Barclays Bank, Britam Insurance, CBA Uganda, AAR, Pepsi, Nation Media Group, Serena Hotels, Jumia, Gems Cambridge International School of Uganda.

PRO OPEN leader-board

 D. Indiza (🇰🇪) 68, 65, 68, 73 – 274 (-10)

 G. Snow (🇰🇪) 69, 68, 69, 72- 278 (-6)

 J. Moore (🇿🇲) 69, 67, 74, 72- 282 (-2)

D. Anguyo (🇺🇬)  70, 74, 69 70- 283(-1)

  R. Happy (🇺🇬)  72, 69, 68,74 -283 (-1)

 M. Madalitso (🇿🇲) 76, 66 ,66 ,77,- 285 (+1)

 S.FERREIRA(zm) 73,70,72,71,- 286(+2)

 Pro Winners in the last 12 years:

2018: Dismas Indiza (Kenya)

2017: Stephen Ferreira (Portugal)

2016: Joshua Seale (South Africa)

2015: Muthiya Madalitso (Zambia)

2014: Deo Akope (Uganda)

2013: Vincent Byamukama (Uganda)

2012: Dismas Indiza (Kenya)

2011: Dismas Indiza (Kenya)

2010: Jean Hakizimana (Rwanda)

2009: Richard Ainley (Kenya)

2008: Dismas Indiza (Kenya)

2007: Dismas Indiza (Kenya)


Share This

Sign up to receive special offers and access to exclusive events

Enjoy the benefits of membership – golf, rebate program, reciprocity with other golf courses, reduced rates for most tournaments and more.

Subscribe to the Club Digest